Final Samples

Here are my final samples I have created for the field module of The City – The Hidden City, inspired by my themes of graffiti and street art and the shapes, forms and patterns found in architecture.

IMG_3122

IMG_3123

This first sample is mostly inspired by graffiti. It is a heat transfer which I painted after seeing a piece of graffiti in Swindon. I loved the vibrant colours and strong 80’s vibe of the street art. The abstract shapes which occurred unintentionally reminds me of a map and could also lend itself to the forms created by buildings and other pieces of architecture. To the basic heat transfer, I added stitching with a twin needle and single needle and also added cording. All in lively neons to accentuate the bright colours in the piece.

IMG_3133

IMG_31341

This sample was created on Photoshop of layered images I took whilst out in the city of Cardiff and then printed onto fabric. It is a combination of Cardiff Castle and several images of street art and graffiti. I like the randomness of this piece. I feel that the layers symbolise those of the city – the old and new combined. I also like the fact that you can’t really make out what the images are.

IMG_3135

IMG_3136

This sample is another piece I created on Photoshop. I used a thinner and lighter fabric for this piece – I feel that the colours of the piece work better with this fabric than if I had used a heavier fabric. The images are more clear than the other Photoshop piece, the majority of the photos I used were taken in St. Fagans.

IMG_3124

IMG_3125

The next four samples are all inspired by a part I have selected to focus on from the Llandaff Cathedral, Cardiff. It is a doorway which is abundant with patterns, forms, shapes.. I have become quite attached to this little door way. Here is a piece which I created using Photoshop, I combined the image of the Cathedral doorway,  the New Theatre in Cardiff city centre and also created a repeat of a piece of graffiti I photographed. I like that the doorway has created an almost embossed look upon the theatre and the graffiti has added interesting vibrant colours. I added free hand machine stitch in bright threads to bring out the colours of the graffiti.

IMG_3127

IMG_3128

This piece was created using a felting needle. I then added free hand machine embroidery on top to create more shape and definition to the piece. This particular piece focusses solely on the shape and patterns in the Llandaff Cathedral doorway. I did not want to use much colour in this piece, instead I focussed on texture.

IMG_3129

(excuse the crease)

IMG_3130

This sample, though being the most simplistic of them all, is actually my favourite. I have combined the themes of colour from graffiti and shape from my adored door way to create a piece that is simplistic yet intriguing. I felt that adding anything else to this piece would ruin it. It was created by painting onto bonda-web and ironing onto a background piece of fabric. The painted colours remind me of the fashionable trend of galaxy print.

IMG_3131

IMG_3132

This final sample was a bit of a risky experiment to say the least! I painted this after being inspired by the ‘oh so famous doorway’, I decided to create a more abstract piece by changing the colours – I wanted to use the vibrant 80s themed colours I used in my heat transfer. Once I had completed the painting, I decided I wanted to transfer it onto fabric. I choose to do some research into other forms of transferring onto fabric. I found something on Pinterest about printing fabric with a normal inkjet printer. I was terrified I was going to jam or even break my shiny newly bought HP printer but I decided to give it a go.. and it worked! I added stitch to embellish the piece.

Here’s a link to the Pinterest post I used..(I found out that you can also use Vilene or Bonda-web instead of spray-mount! I used Bonda-web)  http://www.pinterest.com/pin/400750066812001283/

Leave a Reply

